Ministry

IBS

2 Corinthians 6:4&8-10

“but as servants of God we commend ourselves in every way: by great endurance, in affliction, hardships calamities. (8-10) through honor and dishonor, through slander and praise. We are treated as imposters , and yet are true; as unknown, and yet well known; as dying,and behold, we live; as punished; and yet not killed; as sorrowful, yet always rejoicing; as poor yet making many rich; as having nothing but possessing everything.”

Paul is talking about his ministry here. The many trials, the problems, the provisions and resources that came, and the contrast between perception and reality. Ministry is a difficult thing. There are ups and downs. Some days are definitely better than others. There is a constant attack when you are in any sort of ministry. If there isn’t than you are probably doing something wrong. The attacks are what make you stronger and rely on the Lord. Up until this point in my life I was not involved in any ministry. Growing up in the church all my friends were in ministries, and all my family besides my younger brother where in ministry. I saw the constant battle that my friends and family faced while in ministry with others, themselves, and God and I said no thank you. We are all just human so when human and human are working together there is going to be some problems. I never wanted to be in a constant battle with my fellow believers, never wanted to be in a constant battle with myself and having to consider others before me, I never wanted to battle God when He would place convictions on my heart. I felt that it was better for me to just go to church every Sunday and Wednesday and watch as my family and friends dealt with the difficulties of ministry. Big mistake! It wasn’t enough for me to be the every Sunday and Wednesday Christian, I am a person that needs to be involved, if Im not I start to feel not needed so I will slowly and slowly drift away. This time spent in IGNITE has taught me that ministry is incredibly important! Yes, there is a battle with others, myself, God, and so on but when you get to witness the fruit that comes from that ministry is it so worth it. There are going to be those battles, those ups and downs, those good and bad days just about everywhere I go so why not have it be when I am in deep fellowship with God and around my fellow believers. Ministry is an incredible thing when it is centered around Christ and He is the one leading you.

Application: I have been thinking a lot about the ministry that the Lord would have me do when I return home so I am going continue to pray and ask the Lord where He would have be. 

Leave a Reply

