Titus 3:1-3

~Titus 3: 1-3~

“Remind them to be submissive to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready for every good work, to speak evil of no one, to avoid quarrels, to be gentle, and to show perfect courtesy toward all people. For we ourselves were once foolish, disobedient, led astray, slaves to various passions and pleasures, passing our days in malice and envy, hated by others and hating one another.”

Confession…I have always had a hard time being submissive to authority, especially those that I know very well and who aren’t very good people. But God doesn’t always allow “good” people to be in charge. There is a reason for that because my role as a believer is to be submissive. To be obedient to those that are in rule over me, whether good or bad. That is until they order me to do something that directly contradicts the commandments of God in which I then obey God rather than man(Acts 5:29). I’m not gonna lie, I fall into gossip. I am only human and a good story about someone else’s down falls will make me feel better about myself. I have had friends that know it is wrong and friends that that is all they do all the time. The time I spent with those that gossip and speak evil of everyone were the times were I felt as if I was sinking in my walk. I knew it was wrong but I was trapped by my flesh. I have a very competitive nature and avoiding quarrels is one of my down falls. If I am not right then I will make it to where the other person is also wrong because if I am not right then no one is right. I have gotten better I promise, but I still do fail all the time at being okay with being wrong. Along with this competitive nature comes being aggressive. Gentleness…ha…this use to not be something that I would even consider because I always had to be the best and with always striving to be the best I would sometimes hurt others. Gentle is a word that comes to mind when I think of Christ. Gentle with children, gentle with you, gentle with me. Working with kids everyday for almost the past year has really shown me the love and gentleness of Christ. The fact that I am still able to love, be gentle, and show kindness to kids that can be little punks shows me that I would not be able to do it without Christ. “To show perfect courtesy toward all people”. Why ALL people? Some don’t deserve it. I have had to learn over the years that even though some don’t deserve it, Christ still died for those people and most likely they need the gentleness and perfect courtesy more than others! I was and still am foolish, disobedient, led astray, a slave to certain weaknesses, passion and pleasures but by the grace and mercy of God I am set free. Verses 4-7 “But when the goodness and loving kindness of God our Savior appeared, He saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to His own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit, whom He poured out on us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that being justified by His grace we might become heirs according to hope of eternal life.”

Leave a Reply

