Priceless Treasure

~2 Corinthians 4:7~

“ But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellence of the power may be of God and not of us.”

Who am I that God would allow me to be to be trusted with the Gospel. Eternal life is a priceless treasure. And He puts it into vessels, or pots made from clay. He doesn’t put it into a beautiful treasure chest, but into you and I. There is no possible way for us humans, made from this earth, to be able to draw people to God without God doing the work. Its kind of like this.…you wouldn’t give someone a present that the packaging is more valuable than the actual present. It would be pretty strange if the person just kept going on and on about how beautiful the wrapping is and never actually opening the present to see what is inside. That is why God uses “clay pots” like you and I so that no one will glory in themselves or so that no one else will glory in them but that they will glory in who He is. It is foolish for me to exault myself. He chose me because I am not exalted; and if I seek to exalt myself it will render me useless to Him. He is my Creator all the glory and honor should go to Him not myself. I find this verse very fitting for the battle that I have been facing lately. A battle that comes when I start to think about myself and what is wrong with me instead of focusing on God and how great He is. I look at others and see the gifts that God has blessed them with and desire to have them and ask “why can’t I just be okay with the gifts He has given to me.” I am a broken vessel and I was made for one purpose and that is to glorify God in all that I do no matter what gifts He has chosen to give to me. I have to ask myself…do I want these other gifts for myself and to be exalted by others or do I want them because I want to bring God glory thought it. If I am completely honest it is for myself but I am slowly learning to be content with who God made me and glorify Him through my life no matter what.

Father, thank you for how and who you have made me to be. Help me to glorify you in all that I do and to not want to exalt myself through the gifts that you have given to me. Thank you for trusting me with Your beautiful Treasure and to be Your vessel, Your clay pot. Help me to show who You are in and threw all I do.

Leave a comment